Conference Schedule Update: Washington, D.C., Political Papers and Collections

Saturday November 5, 2011 3:15-5:00 pm
Session 12: Political Collections
Washington, D.C., Political Papers and Collections: Where the Researcher Finds Primary Sources on D.C.’s Political Past and Present
Yvonne Carignan
Head of Special Collections and Archives, Fenwick Library, George Mason University
Meredith Evans Raiford, Ph.D. “Not Just Minister: From the March on Washington  to Representing the Citizens of the District of Columbia in the United States House of Representatives”
Director of the Special Collections Research Center, Gelman Library, George Washington University Special Collections
Derek Gray
Archivist, Washingtoniana Division, DC Public Library
Ida E. Jones, Ph. D. “Whatever measure of success: Washington, D.C. political collections at Moorland Spingarn.”
Assistant Curator, Moorland Spingarn Research Center, Howard University



What: 38th Annual DC Historical Studies Conference
Where: Goethe-Institut and the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library
When: November 3-6, 2011

The 38th Annual DC Historical Studies Conference will be held at the Goethe-Institut and the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library, November 3-6, 2011.

The Goethe-Institut, D.C. at 812 7th St NW is the location of the annual conference reception and Letitia Wood Brown Lecture, November 3. Kenneth J. Winkle, Professor of History at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, will speak on “Lincoln’s Citadel: The Civil War in Washington, DC”.

Concurrent sessions
will be held Friday and Saturday, November 4 and 5 at Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library; the History Network will take place on Friday, 12:30 – 2:00.

Tours will take place on Saturday afternoon and Sunday. Registration information will be posted soon.

Details are in the conference schedule posted below. Postcards announcing the conference will be mailed out soon. Look for them.

Conference registration information will be posted soon.

Co-sponsored by: the Association of Oldest Inhabitants; the Charles Sumner School Museum and Archives; Friends of Washingtoniana Division (FOWD); H-DC –; the Historical Society of Washington, D.C.; Rainbow History Project; and the Washingtoniana Division of the D.C.Public Library.

Conference Committee (2011):

Brett Abrams, Jeffrey Donahoe, Matthew Gilmore (Chair), Mark Greek, Derek Grey, Stephen Hansen, Ida Jones, Jane Freundel Levey, Adam Lewis, Richard Longstreth, John Muller, John Richardson, Gary Scott, Kimberly Springle, Mary Ternes


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s